Yogis Heart provides inner peace through scholarship

As college students, we know there are scholarships for almost anything. As college students, we also know that we are dealt with added pressure from society as to what we intend to do with our lives, and how we plan to succeed with all of the competition there is for jobs. As stated in an earlier post, yoga provides the means to mental clarity and eases stress, which is crucial when dealing with pressure from everyone; however, annual yoga memberships can range anywhere from $800 – $1,200, so what’s a college student to do? There is one organization that combines the best of both worlds for young adults.

Yogis Heart is a volunteer organization that provides yearly-unlimited-yoga scholarships to young adults at the studio of their choice. Yogis Heart believes that a year of regular yoga practice opens the practitioners’ body, mind and spirit to alternative ways of facing the stresses of our everyday modern world. The scholarship is offered to young adults between the ages of 15-25 and if selected, it features a requirement of attending practice at least twice a week in order to maintain the scholarship, if one can even consider that a requirement.

I was awarded this amazing scholarship in February of 2014 and since then I have been able to practice as much as I want, especially during stressful moments. As I stated in an earlier post, this scholarship helped me encounter my first emotional breakthrough, it has helped me grow in both my practice and as a person. This scholarship was instrumental in my transition of moving away from home and starting at a new university. It allowed me to feel connected and at ease with myself and my surroundings, while still feeling at home in practice although home was over 300 miles away. The consistent yoga practice has allowed me to see the world from a different perspective and has offered me a much healthier way of dealing with stress.

I strongly encourage young adults who are seeking a consistent yoga practice, but are limited due to financial means to apply for this scholarship and see how yoga can alter their perspective in just a year. Read blogs entries from other Yogis Heart scholarship recipients here.

Namaste,

Linda

Leave a Reply

