‘Home is not where you live but where they understand you’

Every yogi experiences that one studio they make a connection with, that one studio which feels like a safe place, like home. I continue to search for that special place here in Gainesville, but back home in Miami it was 305 Yoga.

In early 2014 I was awarded a yoga scholarship by an amazing organization called Yogi Hearts, which I will explain more in my next post, and was granted a full year of yoga at the studio of my choice. I had recently moved far away from my old studio so I decided to redeem my scholarship at a new yoga studio that had opened up in my neighborhood, hoping that it would be a good fit.

Two feet into 305 Yoga and I instantly felt how the relationship wasn’t between instructor and student, but friend to friend. The instructor, Mo, was warm and welcoming as most yoga instructors tend to be. However, what really got to me was the sense of community that was in the air during practice. We would practice several poses using each other to balance as we immediately grasped that unity creates a strong foundation allowing everyone to move forward together without leaving someone behind.

During my first class at 305 Yoga I experienced my first emotional breakthrough while practicing hip-openers. Our hips, the deepest confines of our beings, are where we store our suppressed emotions. It is where we tuck away hurtful thoughts and painful experiences.

The class was in double pigeon, Eka Pada Rajakapotasana, for various breaths. As I got deeper into the pose I truly felt all of those negative thoughts I had bottled up over the years escape me. As I surrendered to the pose I thanked each of the memories and thoughts from my past for their lessons and I broke into tears. Tears for the release; tears for finally realizing that in every mistake made, there is a lesson learned; tears for realizing that we shouldn’t be so hard on ourselves. Once again, the sense of community and being understood was felt as other yogis had tears streaming down their face as well during practice.

I have always been intrigued about the soul and chakras, energy centers, but I had never experienced it firsthand as I did that day.

The mantra at 305 Yoga goes as follows:

“May we know the truth. May we see the truth. May we speak the truth. May we feel the truth.”

While saying the mantra our prayer hands move from our crown to our eyes, mouth and heart as we say it in hopes of the truth.

What are some breakthroughs you have experienced at your favorite place?

SAT NAM,

Linda

Leave a Reply

